

SELECTMEN'S MEETING Tremont Town Office Harvey Kelley Meeting Room 6:00 p.m. ~ Monday, November 03, 2014

MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Katharine Thurston opened the Selectmen's meeting of Monday, November 3, 2014 at 6:00 PM.

2. ROLL CALL

Chairman Katharine Thurston, Selectman Chris Eaton, Stewart Murphy, Dean Wass, Town Manager Dana Reed and Recording Secretary Heidi Kelley.

Members of the Public: See attached

- **A.** Excused Absences (if any)
- 3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA No changes to Agenda
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:
 - A. October 20, 2014

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton to approve minutes of October 20, 2014, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

- 5. APPROVAL OF WARRANTS None
- 6. REGULAR BUSINESS:
 - **A. Recreation Board:** Request of the Recreation Board for discussion and approval of its new recreational programs and activities.

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton for the Recreation Board to pursue Town Resident Card, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton to support the Recreation Board with their proposed skating rink on the "Jacob" lot, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton for the Recreation Board to pursue a youth basketball clinic and do as they see fit, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

- B. Selectman Vacancy: Resignation of Selectman Robert Lee, III
 - i. Review and possible acceptance of the resignation.

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton to accept, with regret, the resignation of Robert Lee III from the Select Board, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

ii. Discussion and possible determination of the best procedure for filling Mr. Lee's seat.

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton to operate as a four member Board of Selectmen until Town Meeting in May, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

C. School Stock: Request of the Town Manager for passage of a resolution directing our brokerage to change the address and signatories on the Town's account.

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton to authorize Chairman Kathi Thurston to sign the Certificate of Resolution for the School Stock, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

D. Traffic Control and Parking Ordinance: Review and discussion of a draft amendment.

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton to request Town Manager to draft a warrant article to allow Selectmen to accept fees and penalties and to make changes to Traffic Control and Parking Ordinance as needed, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

E. PERC – **Municipal Review Committee:** Possible action to cast a ballot for the MRC Board of Directors.

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton to vote for Sophia Wilson for MRC Board of Directors, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

F. FY16 Budget Preparation:

i. Warrant Committee: Discussion of current vacancies and recruitment of replacements.

No action taken

ii. **Timeline:** Preliminary discussion of the steps and deadlines for preparation of the annual budgets.

No action taken

- 7. TOWN MANAGER'S REPORT See attached
- **8.** SUGGESTIONS/COMMENTS FOR NEXT MEETING: Any other items which may come in late and are for the board's information purposes only. No action will be taken, except that the board may request a matter be placed on the next agenda.

Selectman Kathi Thurston requested that the Select Board see a complete budget. Selectman Dean Wass would like to review the Harbor Master job description. Select Board would like to meet with the new Sheriff.

9. NEXT MEETING DATE: *Possible adoption of a motion to set the date of the next meeting for Monday, November 17.*

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton for the next meeting to be Monday, November 17, 2014, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

10. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION by Selectman Chris Eaton to adjourn meeting at 8:25 PM, second by Selectman Stewart Murphy. Motion passed 4-0.

		Respectfully submitted, Heidi Kelley Recording Secretary
Katharine S. Thurston, Chair	Robert Lee III, Vice Chair	
Christopher A. Eaton	Stewart Murphy	
Dean Wass		